New trustee and chair appointments

  • 09-Sep-20
  • News Media Release

Dr Michael Stevens, Rebecca Williams, and Raewyn van Gool have been appointed as new Otago Community Trust trustees, newly appointed chair Diccon Sim announced today.

The new trustees replace Kate Hazlett, Ross McRobie and John Wilson who are stepping down from the Trust after completing their trustee terms. 

The new appointments which take effect this week were unfortunately delayed due to the Government needing to divert resources to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Otago Community Trust chair Diccon Sim welcomed the new trustees to the board and acknowledged retiring trustee’s enormous contribution to the Trust. 

“I wish to thank Kate, Ross and John for their excellent and valuable contribution to the Trust over the years. The knowledge and expertise each have contributed around the board table will be missed.”

Ross and more recently John have provided the Trust with strong leadership and direction in their role as chair and this has been greatly appreciated, said Sim.

Otago Community Trust chief executive Barbara Bridger welcomed the new appointments.

“We are delighted to have Michael, Rebecca and Raewyn on board, they will bring an excellent blend of skills, experience and community connections to the Trust’s board table.”

Trustees are appointed to the Community Trust by the Minister of Finance, under the Community Trusts Act 1999. Trustees are selected for their professional or community-based experience and must live within the Trust's region.

Trustees are responsible for managing funds of more than $290 million and distributing income for the benefit of the Otago communities.


Otago Community Trust Trustees

The 11 Otago Community Trust Trustees are:

Diccon Sim (Chair)

Barb Long (Deputy Chair)

Gina Huakau

Pip Laufiso

Haley van Leeuwen

Kevin Malcolm

Malcolm Wong

Bridget Tweed

Dr Michael Stevens

Rebecca Williams

Raewyn Van gool

Timeline 2021

Indicative Timetable for 2021

  • 18-Jan-21
  • News Announcements

Read more
Taieri College

$1.1M granted in Trust’s final round for 2020

  • 14-Dec-20
  • News Media Release

Otago Community Trust have funded over $1.1M in support of a diverse range of community causes in what was the Trusts final funding round for 2020.

Read more
Trusts Act

The Trusts Act 2019: Implications for trustees of charitable trusts and Not For Profits

  • 19-Nov-20
  • News Announcements

Professor Jessica Palmer and Stephanie Pettigrew explain the implications of the Trusts Act 2019 which comes in to effect on 31 January 2021.

Read more
Sports Turf

Funding boost for Waitaki Boys artificial turf

  • 04-Nov-20
  • News Media Release

The new multipurpose all-weather turf at Waitaki Boys High School in Oamaru received a substantial funding boost from the latest round of grants from the Otago Community Trust.

Read more
Imaginative hospital initiatives from pupils

Imaginative hospital initiatives from pupils

  • 23-Oct-20
  • News Funding Stories

The students of the Hills Cluster schools were excited to show off their Dunedin Hospital rebuild ideas in late October at the Dunedin Community Gallery. The gallery was a buzz with AR & VR solutions, apps, robotics, health & wellbeing solutions, room design ideas and much more.

Read more