Strategic Grants

The Trust continues to seek opportunities to develop our strategic grant making. We wish to actively work with others to support projects of a greater scale and impact for the communities of Otago. 


Impact for Tamariki and Rangatahi Fund

Otago Community Trust announced on 28th March 2022 that it will invest up to $10 million over the next five years into organisations and initiatives that seek to support the regions young people. This investment will be made through the introduction of three new funds aimed at lifting the capability of young people in the Otago region. 

The Impact for Tamariki and Rangatahi Fund aims to provide a small number of high investment grants with a focus on:

  • Projects that have the potential to be game changing and deliver long term intergenerational change.
  • Projects that put tamariki, rangatahi and whānau at the centre.
  • Strong relationships and trust between the Trust and organisations.
  • Building capability of the funded organisations.


He Ao Hou i Ōtepoti ki te Raki Charitable Trust

He Ao Hou Project 



Learning Impact Fund - 2017 to 2020

Outside of our Community Grants, in 2017 Otago Community Trust established two Strategic Funds to support Otago schools:

  • $for$ Fund, and 
  • Learning Impact Fund

The $for$ Fund and Learning Impact Fund ran over a three year period and were designed to support projects which would make a real difference to student achievement, but which are unable to be funded through traditional funding channels.

Otago Community Trust identified education of Otago’s young people as a priority area and recognised that schools themselves were best placed to determine the needs of their students. As part of its commitment to this area and with the aim of helping Otago’s young people reach their potential the Trust granted over $4 million dollars (between both funds) to provide schools in the region the flexibility to respond to the needs of their students. 

Sara Cohen School

Transition Project


George Street Normal School

Lighthouse Project


Columba College

Burn Bright & KiVa Programme


Dunstan Kahui Ako

STEAM Education Development


Weston School

Makerspace Development


Big River Cluster – South Otago

STEAM Education Development


Mornington, Opoho, Bradford School Cluster

Nga Tapa Wha - Building Strong Lives on Solid Foundations


Silverstream South Primary School

Preschool initiation into primary school


Kings High School

Positive Education Programme


Otago Peninsula / Otakou Cluster

STEAM Education Development


Kaikorai Valley College

Urban Farm Programmes


Cromwell Communities of Learning

Makerspace Development


Hills Cluster

STEM Education Development