New Trustee Appointments for Otago Community Trust

  • 20-Jul-18
  • News Announcements

Yesterday Otago Community Trust undertook an induction day with their five new trustees appointed to the Trust by the Associate Minister of Finance Hon Dr David Clark on the 28th June 2018.

Haley van Leeuwen, Barb Long, Diccon Sim and Malcolm Wong of Dunedin, along with Kevin Malcolm of Oamaru have been appointed to the Trust board.

The new trustees replace Helen Webster and Stephen Kornyei who are retiring after eight years of service to the Trust and present trustees Peter Chin and Colin Jackson who have not been reappointed to the Trust for a second four-year term.

Otago Community Trust Chairperson Ross McRobie acknowledged retiring trustee’s enormous contribution to the Trust.

“I wish to thank Helen and Stephen for their enormous contribution, both have represented their communities well as members of the Trust board. In particular, I thank Stephen for his support of me as Deputy Chair and for serving as the Chair of the Audit Risk and Finance Committee over the past two years”.  

The Trust is also naturally very sad to say farewell to Peter and Colin who have both been valued members of the trustee team over the last four years, said McRobie.

The new trustees commenced their terms starting 1 July 2018.  The 11 trustees who serve on the Otago Community Trust are appointed by the Minister of Finance. They are selected for their professional or community-based experience and must live within the Trust's region.

The trustees are responsible for managing funds of more than $290 million and distributing income for the benefit of the Otago communities.

Otago Community Trust chief executive Barabra Bridger welcomed the new appointments. “We are pleased to have our new trustees appointed and look forward to their contribution. We believe the skill sets and knowledge each will bring to the table will be an asset for the Trust”.


Otago Community Trust Trustees

The 11 Otago Community Trust Trustees are:

Ross McRobie (Chair)

John Wilson (Deputy Chair)

Lauren Semple

Gina Huakau

Pip Laufiso

Kate Hazlett

Haley van Leeuwen

Kevin Malcolm

Barb Long

Diccon Sim

Malcolm Wong


Trustee Profiles can be found HERE



Youth Development Strategy of Aotearoa - Dunedin Hui

  • 18-Jan-19
  • Announcements

Opportunity to strengthen the Youth Development Strategy of Aotearoa.

Read more

30 years on trust makes worthy things happen

  • 17-Dec-18
  • News Announcements

It is the end of an era for the Otago Community Trust, as grants manager Carol Melville steps down after 30 years with the trust. 

Read more

Rural communities welcome funding support

  • 06-Dec-18
  • News Media Release

Otago Community Trust have funded over $600,000 in support of a wide range of community causes in their final funding round for 2018.

Read more

Learning Impact Fund hits $1M

  • 04-Dec-18
  • News Media Release

Read more

Funding boost for Palmerston Bike Park

  • 08-Nov-18
  • Media Release

A $20,000 grant was awarded to support the development of a sealed cycle track adjacent to the existing skate park in Palmerston.

Read more